The Ninth Ritinjali Second Chance Golf Tournament - 17th October

The ninth edition of Ritinjali ’s Second Chance Golf tournament. presented by Hughes was held on 17th October, 2014 at the Delhi Golf Club. The idea of the Second Chance Golf tournament originated from our Second Chance School in Mahipalpur, Delhi where we attempt to educate urban, deprived young adults who unfortunately had to end an educational chapter in their lives. The Second Chance Golf Tournament is a unique event, leveraging as it does the medium of golf to successfully raise funds which help in providing impetus to various causes supported by Ritinjali.

The participants and organisers gathered at the golf course bright and early for registration and a sumptuous breakfast, followed by a brief welcome ceremony. Mr. Arun Kapur, Chairman Ritinjali, welcomed everyone and spoke about Ritinjali initiatives in various parts of Delhi as well as the country, to help and empower marginalised communities. He also spoke about the Second Chance School where young boys are provided a “Second Chance” at rebuilding their lives.

The tournament commenced with an inaugral tee off at 7:45 am by Mr Pranav Roach, President Hughes, following which staggered tee offs began for each group. The first four-ball group also saw participation from Dr. Hamid Ansari, Hon’ble Vice President of India. We were delighted to have a total of 82 golfers take part in the tournament this year, including star golfers Jasjit Singh and Vikram Sethi.

Organised by Digraj Golf, the tournament had a unique playing format with surprises and contests built into each experience. The boys from the Second Chance School played an integral part throughout the tournament. They welcomed the guests and were stationed at each hole to coordinate or explain activities.
The tournament aimed to create a singular and unparalleled experience, where every participant would go back with memories of a great day on the golf course to help further a good cause. The Second Chance Golf tournament has been instrumental over the years in raising funds for various Ritinjali projects. The money that has been raised has been utilised in the day-to-day operations of the various learning centres run by Ritinjali. In the past years, many noble corporates have joined hands with us by participating in this tournament and helping to raise funds. To them, a big thank you from the bottom of our hearts.


1. 3/4th of Original Handicap

Sl No. Category Prizes
1 Overall Prizes • Winner – Ravi Burman – 43 pts

• Runner Up – Shashank Sinha – 42 pts

• 2ndRunner Up – Tejinder Singh- 41 pts

2. Double Peoria Handicap

Sl No. Category Prizes
1 Overall Prizes • Winner – Gen. Shergill – 38 pts

• Runner Up - Capt Lalit Talwar – 37 pts


1st Prize – Ranjit Mehta – all correct answers

2nd Prize – Prem Sachdev – taking out a draw after tying with Paritosh with 8 correct answers


1 ADANI STRAIGHTEST DRIVE 4 Cdr. Amardeep Singh – 9”
2 HUGHES CLOSEST TO THE PIN 7 Mayur Rastogi – 4’ 3”
3 ATS MONSTER PUTT 9 - Gen Shergill – 1st
- Devender Rajpal – 2nd
4 BMO STRAIGHTEST DRIVE 10 Indrev Singh Mann – on the line
5 PIZZA HUT CLOSEST TO THE PIZZA 12 Gen Shergill – 5’ 6”
6 DELSEY LONGEST DRIVE 13 Uday Bawa – 306 yds
7 YATRA STRAIGHTEST FLIGHT 14 Anuva Saurabh – 1’
8 HUGHES CLOSEST TO THE PIN 17 Monica Jajoo – 8”
9 ATS LONGEST DRIVE 18 Inderbir Singh – 264 yds